• Hello there guest and Welcome to Modular Fox Mustangs home of the 2V, 3V, 4V, Coyote Modular Mustang Conversion Information Website!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Fox 4.6 4v and 4r70 Swap

Hello all, newbie here. Just bought two rollers last weekend for $1400, one 87 notch (sold awaiting pickup) and one 89 notch. The 89 was completely stripped to tie the frame together, got it completely stripped and gutted which is perfect for me as i wanted to tear down that far and dynomat and put racing seats up front with a cage and rear seat delete . Car came 5 lug swapped but still drum rears and unfortunately ranger spindles, with an unknown tubular k member. Previous owner sand blasted and painted the engine bay so its as bare as it gets as well. The car had the wiring harness still in the car and enough parts underneath to roll but thats is.

Im hoping some members can set me straight on a few things as well as weight in a few opinions on parts.
Ultimate goal is to 4.6 4v and 4r70 swap the car with coil-overs and full disk brakes.
I attempting to build a jack of all trades car, one that can run down the strip, carve corners at a track and drive to work once or twice a month. I don't expect it to be the best setup of car for each event, but i do expect do at the least compete with some adjustments for each goal.

I have already picked up a 99 teksid aluminum block that spun a rod bearing but has the forged crank so ill have it turned and buy bearings accordingly. In that same purchase i also picked up 2 sets of cobra C heads one set nearly complete but missing 2 valves as they needed them for a different build, and the other set is complete bare heads. Also a hydroboost all this for about $400 and at one stop, a win in my book.